Anti-Blog

Me, me, me, sloppy, sloppy, sloppy.  Thus begins – and ends – many a blog.  But simply because the phenomenon has been largely me-centered and unpolished, does not mean that I cannot rebel against the e-anarchy.   I henceforth commit myself to the utmost level of literary coherence, intellectual competence, etc.

Welcome to my anti-blog. 

“There is nothing new under the sun.”  Before there were blogs, there were Gutenberg pamphlets and Victorian novels.  That very statement has surely been said by someone else somewhere.  But not by me. 

Why listen to me?  Because I come to you not as one primarily concerned with presenting himself – though will I do so freely, when it is useful – but as one primarily concerned with reflecting you.  C. S. Lewis tells us, “We read to know that we are not alone.”  I write so that you will know that you are not alone.  Through my own struggles with faith and doubt, sanity and insanity, race and identity, I have come to understand myself in ways that I did not before… which leads me to conclude that I might understand you in ways that you do not yet understand yourself.  My offer to you: essays, poems, and stories that might be be a mirror for your soul even as they are an expression of mine.

This is a pretentious claim and I preemptively apologize for botching it in small – and large – ways along the way.  My value is in my words.  Am I worthy of your time?  You be the judge.

Escher eye

Published in: on June 20, 2007 at 1:39 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithfool.wordpress.com/2007/06/20/anti-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice. A lofty goal, and I like it.

  2. Thanks. It’s been funny, now that I’ve had the op to blog for a month, to see how tempting — and often useful it is — to wax personal. Is this a means to an end, for the sake of illustration? Or am I hypocritically embracing the same introspective exhibitionism as everyone else? Or a bit of both? I guess that’s what makes goals goals. We set them high and come as close as we can, by the grace of God.

  3. Gday,

    I like your blog. I have just started to read bits of it but hopefuly I will read more as ‘time’ goes on.

  4. Thank you. I’ll try to return the favor.

  5. God warns in Revelation 22: 18-19 that you should not “take away” from the Book of Revelation, and tells of fearful consequences if you do. I am not saying you fit this profile, but I would stop cracking jokes about these things if I were you. Afterall, people spending everlasting time in a pit of sulphur and fire, perpetually hungry, thirsty and in need of rest, with their bodies full of worms is nothing to find funny.

  6. To which things do you refer? I want to take your comment seriously, but I do not see how this applies to this post…. Are you referring to the entirety of my postings here? My making light of things eternal?


Leave a Reply

