Why Do We Love?

To love is to lose.  Yet I love anyway.  Why?  Because love is always worth the risk, the frustration, and the pain.  Love makes me whole.

 

How am I able to love?   I love because I have been loved.  The more I feel love, the more I love.  The more I realize love, more I love.  The more I receive love, the more I give love.  The burden is on me, who know I am loved, to love those who do not know that they have been loved! 

 

How am I to live out that love?  In blatant defiance of what makes me happy and in earnest pursuit of what makes me whole.  Love is not about me doing what I want, but about me sacrificing myself in order to do what I know is right.  True love has everything to do with justice, social and otherwise.  May it be done, though the heavens fall!

 

Love is the why and the how.  But what is love? 

Published in: on June 25, 2007 at 5:41 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithfool.wordpress.com/2007/06/25/why-do-we-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is a bit long for a comment, but here goes:

    I haven’t thought about why I love now. I used to “love” in order to ensure love or feel like I’d earned it—until I learned that that wasn’t love at all.

    I agree that I love because I have been loved.

    These are my collected thoughts on what I think love is. I add to it whenever I understand something new about the nature of love:

    God’s Love = he loves me the same whether I do good or bad;
    it’s unconditional and forever.

    Love can’t be earned; only accepted.
    Love is freely given.
    I used to think love meant the duty to show love when one doesn’t feel like it. Now I think it is about desire. If one doesn’t desire to love someone, then one ought to find out and deal with what it is that is blocking that desire.
    We also have to fully own ourselves and know our own boundaries before we can freely give.
    Love recognizes the good and bad in another and still accepts.
    Love is what we all want.
    Love is what we can learn how to do in a world that is far short of perfection while we are waiting for heaven.
    Love gives and sacrifices.
    The best sort of love spills over out of our wholeness—which is only possible after we’ve become secure in our male or female identity (rooted in God), otherwise we just use one another for the sake of our own egos.
    Ideal love is faithful.
    Accepting love helps make me whole.

    Other definitions: 1 Cor. 13: 4-8; 1 John 3:16; 1 John 4:10

  2. Amen! Knowing this with our minds and experiencing this with our hearts keeps us healthy and sane. But how easily I forget!

    1 Corinthians 13:4-8
    Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends….

    1 John 3:16
    By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers.

    1 John 4:10
    This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.


Leave a Reply

