Dear God, WTF?!

An Open Letter to God

Dear God,

Heard from a friend today, who reminded me of everything wrong in the world.  Children in sex slavery in Cambodia.  Where the hell are you?  And where were you when the Holocaust happened?  Or slavery?  Or the Taliban?  Or the crusades?  Where?

So I sit, waiting for you to split the sky and come down, burning to a crisp every twisted bastard among us.  I sit, weeping, rocking gently in my chair.  I breath in the air-conditioned coolness.  I look up at the white ceiling of my new house, waiting for you to tear off the roof.  I fume with anger, and then I remember: I had forgotten.

I have known for the years about the child sex trade.  A friend in college did recon and sting operations with the International Justice Mission.  But I forgot.  I became comfortable, distracted, self-centered.  I was so busy being so excited about how many hits my blog got today.  Screwed-up bastard that I am, I forgot to care.

If you’re waiting for me to be ready, God, before you come down… if that’s what’s holding you up, thanks, I guess.

If you’re waiting for me to take action, God, if that’s what these children need… help me!  Help them!  Help me help them!

We need you.  I don’t know how much longer we can wait.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithfool.wordpress.com/2007/07/14/dear-god-wtf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wonder the same thing day in and day out, and I love your answer: “If you’re waiting for me to be ready, God, before you come down… if that’s what’s holding you up, thanks, I guess.”

    Sometimes I wonder whether all the suffering on Earth is supposed to make us yearn for Heaven and seek Christ during our lifetimes so that we can get there. Or perhaps, if we lived in a world where there was no sin, famine, poverty, or death, why would we need a Heaven? Why would we need a Savior?

    I don’t know, I wish things like what you mention in your blog weren’t going on in the world. I know that God has the power to stop all these injustices, but he is choosing not to. Maybe it’s like a fever that’s a sign of your body fighting off infection….but how long will it last?

    In all your anger and frustration, you managed to type up a very beautiful post. And hey, I had no idea about this, so thanks for writing this.

    It’ll all end. Maybe not during our lifetimes, but it will.

    -Enelia

  2. Hallelujah! And when it’s over, what a party there will be.

  3. “But I forgot. I became comfortable, distracted, self-centered. I was so busy being so excited about how many hits my blog got today. Screwed-up bastard that I am, I forgot to care.

    If you’re waiting for me to be ready, God, before you come down… if that’s what’s holding you up, thanks, I guess.”

    – Brilliant and brutally honest

  4. If I’m going to stay sane (and orthodox!), I have to be (brutally honest, that is, esp. with myself). Thank you!

  5. I just found this post – (jerry from italktogod). I’ve since dedicated all my oddness to my new blog, not sure if you’ve seen it or not. FarkedLife.com. Not sure it’s still in line with what you enjoy reading – but, perhaps? I’ll read more of your blog now – great to find it.

  6. Thanks. I’ll check yours out, too.


Leave a Reply

