“Service” = Sales = Suck

We live in a “service-based economy,” they say.  This sounds like a great idea, but the sad reality is that service equals sales.  Health insurance companies are not a services, they are businesses.  Their goal is to turn a profit, not to help you.

And so it was that I wasted half an hour yesterday at a cell phone store, trying to buy an accessory that they have in stock, but walked away empty-handed because I was not allowed to buy anything unless being directly helped by a sales representative, and the one sales rep spent 30 minutes serving two people.   

But it isn’t as if they didn’t have enough of a staff budget.  Just inside the door was Ad Girl.  I asked her to help me, but she said she couldn’t do anything but show me how I could watch T.V. on my phone, an utterly amazing, utterly useless feat.

I’m a strange shopper, I suppose.  I decide what I want before I walk in the door, I go in, buy it, and get out.  But require me to work through your sales staff, who will attempt to suggestively sell me things I don’t need, and I’m liable to take my business somewhere else.  Thanks for wasting my time.

Can you hear me now?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithfool.wordpress.com/2007/08/13/service-sales-suck/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sometimes it’s easy to just take your business elsewhere…other times you just have to get creative because the option isn’t really there.

    I’m sure you have heard of the evils of Charter Communications. I dealt with them for two years and my experience was so poor that I now do not have cable…in the St. Louis area it’s either Charter, satellite, or nothing at all. Living in an apartment building though, it’s either Charter or Charter.

    I am now paying for a landline that I never use just so that I can have Internet access at home…so that I can bypass Charter. It’s worth every penny, but it still doesn’t make up for the times when I find myself wanting to watch Mythbusters or Modern Marvels. And that’s why I’m slowly building my DVD collection.

  2. This is why I love the phenomenon of Netflix vs. Blockbuster. Capitalism at its best! Competition = awesome deals for the consumer… this time.

    And if you have the right DVDs, who needs cable?


Leave a Reply

