The Black Godfather

Denzel Washington – Jerry Bruckheimer + Ridley Scott = awesome?

There has long been an empty slot on my DVD shelf waiting for Denzel’s best movie.  It’s not that he hasn’t made some great ones.  But Man on Fire was too jumpy and Deja Vu was too cheesy and superficial.  Maybe my problem is Denzel’s directors.

Ridley Scott could change all that.  He is best known for his work on Gladiator and Alien.  In November, he will release American Gangster, starring Washington and based on a true story.  Hollywood has given us plenty of high profile examples of the Italian-American alpha male ruling the streets of America.  In recent memory, there have even been a few Irish-American stand-outs (Boondock Saints, The Departed).  But we Black folk have had a while to wait.  Until now.

Don’t get me wrong.  Heroin is bad business.  Or it’s good business, but for the wrong reasons.  Crime is bad, but if I’m going to see it on screen, I want to see it done right.  This time, I think the recipe is just right.

Plus, the script is by the man who wrote the script for Schindler’s List.

Published in: on August 15, 2007 at 9:05 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithfool.wordpress.com/2007/08/15/the-black-godfather/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a great combination of talent. I really like Man on Fire. I thought he was intense. Deja Vu was pretty wierd, but he carried it on his shoulders with star power alone. Can’t wait for this new one.

  2. The only thing that concerns me is that great writers and directors plus great actors can still fail miserably (ex.: “Miami Vice”). This one has plenty of potential, but nothing in this business is a sure thing.


Leave a comment