Random Dude on the Street Gave Me $$$!?!

Ten minutes late, I parked my car on the edge of Forest Park and dashed across Skinker, dogding traffic as cannily as any SLU student (we all have minor’s in Jay-walking).

Before I could turn up the steps to my church, a random guy approached me on the sidewalk.  He was wearing a ‘wife-beater’ and had a bright orange Hawaiian shirt draped over one shoulder.  Good thing my wallet is empty, I thought.

“Are you going to church?” he asked.

“Yeah.”

He reached into pocket and pulled out a clear plastic bag containing a folded-up one dollar bill and about $2.78 in change (my best guess based on years in customer service and counting my piggy bank).  He pulled out the dollar bill and handed it to me.

“This is how I want to be a blessing.  My name is ____.”

“Thank you,” I said, baffled, as he turned and quickly continued on his way.

That just blew my paradigm for half-a-dozen things and it wasn’t even 11:00 yet.  What a way to start the day!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://faithfool.wordpress.com/2007/09/02/random-dude-on-the-street-gave-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. He obviously reads your blog.

  2. But what he forgot to tell you is that he stole the money, Robin Hood style. 🙂

  3. But I’m not poor!

  4. I’ve often had a hard time distinguishing between “angels unaware” and the mentally ill. Maybe they’re one in the same.

  5. Wow, I’ve never heard of such an incident. Pretty amazing.

  6. I keep running through the possible scenarios of what he was thinking. Pretty amazing, regardless.

  7. I’ve been mentally ill. I think “angels unaware” deserve a second category. (In the original context, we might “entertain angels, unaware.” We’re the ones unaware not the angels.) At the time, I was convinced that many of my nurses might be angels, but that’s a whole ‘nother conversation.


Leave a Reply

